Home > Uncategorized > Incorret user name or password when setting up GMail on iPhone/touch

Incorret user name or password when setting up GMail on iPhone/touch

I bought an iPod Touch and was trying to hook it up to my gmail account, but kept getting “The user name or password for “imap.gmail.com” is incorrect”. I tried going through the official GMail setup but to no avail.

Triple checked to make sure IMAP support was enabled, still nothing.

Then I stumbled along a post suggesting to try unlocking captcha on my account (https://www.google.com/accounts/UnlockCaptcha). I went ahead and everything worked fine afterward. Awesome!

  1. hodgey
    May 14, 2010 at 12:19 am

    thanks for that post. Finally got mine going again 🙂

  2. Ibrahim
    June 20, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    Thanks heaps, you saved me a lot of time and trouble!

  3. Joopsky
    September 24, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    Thank’s man!!! Almost threw my iphone into the window doing everything as was written in Gmail help, thanks god and internet and you)

  4. September 28, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    Glad you guys found this helpful!

  5. Sebastien
    December 23, 2010 at 8:45 am

    Thank you so much ! This has saved me loads of time !

  6. Jakisa
    May 31, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    Thank you, man!

  7. Anonymous
    October 19, 2011 at 1:59 am

    You are awesome

    Thanks

  8. Manny Hernandez (@askmanny)
    October 19, 2011 at 11:37 am

    Thanks for sharing this! I have spent the past 2 hours thinking my Google Apps account had been hacked. This took care of it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

